Tesla’s Model Y is the company’s latest five-star safety rated car

published 12.01.2021 17:38

Image of article 'Tesla’s Model Y is the company’s latest five-star safety rated car'
Share More Posts

Tesla’s vehicles have been acing the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) crash tests for years, and the Model Y is now the latest to join those ranks, with the midsize SUV scoring five stars in every category that the group tests for crash safety.

The Model Y scores five-star results across the board — although, as with the NHTSA’s previous tests, these results are only for regular, human-piloted scenarios, not Tesla’s self-driving Autopilot mode.

The new results mean that the Model Y joins the Model 3, Model X SUV, and Model S in perfect crash test scores.

(The Model S was originally granted a 5.4-star rating, before the NHTSA revised its guidelines to get rid of “impossible” scores.)

NHTSA grades cars on a variety of crash test metrics, including frontal crashes (with subcategories for both the driver and passenger seats), side crashes (for crashes into both a barrier and a pole), and rollover scenarios.

by @cgartenberg from theverge.com
Similar Posts

Free awesomeness straight to your inbox!

Sign up now for this free newsletter to receive hand picked content, covering topics like Lifestyle, Business & Technology.

Free Newsletter Sign up now!

..or jump directly to the latest posts!