[#clip: Mode works as a sort of pause on Google's activity collection, but it [isn't a privacy and security shield.
(You can find our complete guide to [limiting Google's tracking As soon as you do, the company will nuke your accumulated activity and location data that's 18 months or older, and continue to do so going forward.
Existing accounts, though, will still need to proactively turn on the feature, as Google doesn't want to force a change on users who, for whatever reason, want the company to maintain a forever-record of their activity.
A year ago, the company [added controls that allowed you to set your Google account to delete history—like Web and App Activity and location—every three months or 18 months.
But Wednesday's changes focus on the data that Google services like Maps and YouTube can access—and how long they keep it for.
I really appreciate you for taking the time to write me this feedback.
I received your feedback.
I am sorry!
An error occurred and we could not transfer your message.
Please try again or get in contact with us via mail.